Home > Associated stories > Those ‘Sorry, you were out’ cards: a postman delivers his verdict

Those ‘Sorry, you were out’ cards: a postman delivers his verdict

Very few mailmen mislead their customers – but it’s more likely to happen at Christmas…

Tuesday 15 December 2009

Read more here.

  1. rosiepost
    December 16, 2009 at 3:30 pm

    Went to the Guardian website to read this article and was really shocked by the range of negative comments on the issue of 739 cards. It’s almost as though posties fall into the same category as estate agents and bankers!

  2. December 16, 2009 at 3:38 pm

    Yes I noticed that, but it’s not a feeling I get out on the streets. How about you Rosie? I think there’s just been a lot of negative publicity about this issue and that a lot of negative people have latched onto it. Generally I think we’re still held in high regard; and if we’re not, it’s my job to help people to understand what we’re going through. Thanks for leaving a message.

  3. rosiepost
    December 16, 2009 at 4:37 pm

    On my walk most are still very positive even after 3-4 months of industrial action. Panorama programme seemed to do a lot of good. Pehaps this 739 card issue is indicative of increased packet workload – drivers as well as posties.

  4. December 16, 2009 at 6:05 pm

    Yes. And another issue is bullying. People are being made to do their rounds faster than they should. There’s a lot of pressure and they are panicking about time, so don’t have time to write the 739s out properly. I think I should write a longer piece about this, what do you think? How are things in your office?

  5. rosiepost
    December 16, 2009 at 7:41 pm

    Most feel pressured. I don’t want to talk specifically about my office for fear of identification but I’ve heard horror stories from all over London and I’m in no doubt that it’s been widespread particularly whilst clearing the strike backlog. It would be very interesting to see RM’s figures for those off sick with stress in the last few months.

    Another point… for the entire duration of the strike period D2D kept coming, 3 items a week. It was given equal priority to real mail, which meant we were taking out junk despite the fact there was a backlog of real mail (old ladies’ hospital letters etc) in the office.

  6. Rachel Pearce
    December 17, 2009 at 5:15 pm

    I must say I have never experienced this problem. I now live in a rural area where I know the 2 posties who regularly deliver my post and they are very sensible about leaving stuff that doesn’t have to be signed for in an agreed safe place if we are all out. But even when we lived on the outskirts of London I don’t remember this ever happening (mind you, that was 15 years ago!)

  7. December 17, 2009 at 5:35 pm

    I don’t think it happens anywhere as much as is being claimed. It was odd because it was the headline news about the Panorama programme, but in the end it was one of the secondary points in the programme. Various newspapers jumped on it as a way of talking down us posties. Certainly no one I know does it. I took out four pouches of packets today and delivered them all. I only 739’d five addresses.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Yanis Varoufakis

thoughts for the post-2008 world

Yorkley Court Community Farm

Sustainable Agriculture in the Forest of Dean

Ian Bone

Anarchist in the UK

Opinion | The Guardian

Occasional thoughts from an overworked postie

LRB blog

Occasional thoughts from an overworked postie

AAV

Occasional thoughts from an overworked postie

[needs a title]

Help me out with a title!

sicknote

celebrate your wrong bits

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

Conflicts by Ari Rusila

- [aka ex-BalkanBlog] - ISSN 2342-6675 - Conflicts , Balkans, Black Sea region, MidEast, EurAsia

London Love

My city, my home, my beloved...

Fierce Writing

Not so much Rage Against the Machine as Slightly Peeved the Taps Won't Work

The Big Hand

Publishing the Unpublishable from Next February

Think Left

The purpose of Think Left is to present a view of politics from a left-wing perspective.

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

